This Room for Less!

I love this room I found on the blog myidealhome.tumblr.com and I decided I wanted to figure out if I could redo this room for cheap, a la Sabrina Soto from HGTV. So, I’m on a mission to find each piece at an affordable price! (I did it all for under $1000). Perhaps as a college student this room could feel a little more at reach. Here goes!Image

MAIN FURNITURE

The couch is the biggest piece, which I found one similar to at IKEA for $399 (Ektorp sofa)

Image

The coffee table is also from IKEA, Lack coffee table for $20Image

The Louis upholstered accent chair to the right of the sofa is like this one from Walmart, called the Wildon Home Vernon Chair for $126!

The side tables are of mirror and gold detail, which are details also found in this Jules Large Accent Table from Crate and Barrel for $300

or as an alternative this mirrored table from Target for $80 (which is sitting in my home right now, except I got it at Goodwill for $42)

ACCESSORIES

The lamps on the side tables I found at pottery barn for $129, called the Gemma Milk-Glass Table LampImage

Sun-shaped wall art found at Pier One Imports for $100

The pillows I found at Target, the first on sale for $10, Embroidered Toss Pillow, then the second Target Home Outdoor Toss Pillows for $25 in a set of two that has a similar design as the rug.

 

This rug from Walmart is in the same color pallet as the rug in the picture, and starts at only $50! This one is called America Millennium Toronto Blue Rug.

Here’s a trick I saw through Pinterest to making gold vases, cups, bowls on your own! Love a good DIY project. Check out instructions here

To pull the whole look together, stack thick architectural or artist books on the coffee table, adorn the vases with flowers (or get some fake ones at the craft store). Hang your own artwork or clippings from magazines on the walls, and settle in! I love how this room is cozy and chic. Like fashion, I love things to be beautiful and comfortable…oh and affordable too. =)

Leave a Reply

